I think I am going to start watching football..

This is the nth time in a month that I go to a party – people suddenly start talking football – and I feel like Joey in that encyclopedia episode of F.R.I.E.N.D.S.

So I have finally decided…I am going to follow football! I have been keeping myself away from the game since quite a while, but I guess it is time to give the sport a try. Apart from the fact that I don’t want to dodge football discussions at social gatherings anymore, there are some other strong arguments in football’s favour. So here’s 5 reasons why football may be a good thing for me right now:

  1. I like football: Or whatever I have seen of it during the past couple of World Cups and Euro tournaments – it is fast, action packed, unpredictable, supremely entertaining and usually get’s over in <2 hours
  2. I am intrigued: I don’t know how it happened, but almost every cricket-watching friend in my circle has turned to football. It has really ‘changed the game’ for so many young Indians and that too, when no team representing India has qualified for a world event in quite a while! I can’t help but wonder what it is about this sport that has caused this transformation.
  3. Being a couch-potato-sports-fan is fun: I realised that just because I (can) hardly play a sport, doesn’t mean I cannot follow it! In fact, as a passive follower, I don’t have to perform, but can always criticize – best position to be in, I tell you!
  4. It is easier to take digs at Liverpool fans, if you actually watch the sport: I think I have overused “When was the last time you guys won anything?” and “Oh you support Liverpool? Sorry man!”
  5. I finally understand the offside rule:
3 thoughts on “I think I am going to start watching football..

  1. I dont have to perform, but can always criticize. Its the best position to be in. – Good thing you are joining consulting then 😛

Leave a Reply

