APAD #NYC: Had on the Street

For a vegetarian tourist with a steadily declining bank balance, upscale restaurants and delis are not an everyday eating out option. The fast paced life excludes the possibility of cooking everyday (not to mention the lack of culinary skills beyond a few dishes).

The only option remaining is Street Food.

I love street food – it is tasty, quick, easily accessible and most importantly, cheap!

Being a vegetarian limits your options..a lot..and so after a lot of exploration, here is what I have come up with:

Breakfast:

Donuts and Coffee

Alternatively, one can try Bagels and Muffins  – coffee is the constant  [ Bagels + Coffee is considered to be the standard New Yorker Breakfast]

Perfect start to the day!

Perfect start to the day!

Lunch:

Falafels! They are awesome – almost staple food to me! There are Falafel Sandwiches, Falafel over rice and their distant cousin, Babaghanouj

Falafel over Rice (hint: always ask them to put lots of hot sauce..lots!)

Falafel over Rice (hint: always ask them to put lots of hot sauce..lots!)

I love the cart at 116 and Amsterdam – no one makes them falaels as well as the owner Muhammad (I don’t even have to tell him my order any more)

Falafel Sandwich ( I could never wait to click a pic before eating them, so this is taken from http://www.foodpeoplewant.com/falafel-sandwich/)

Falafel Sandwich ( I could never wait to click a pic before eating them, so this is taken from http://www.foodpeoplewant.com/falafel-sandwich/)

Afternoon snack:

Chinese food! Dumplings! – not exactly heavy, yet tasty and filling!

IMG_2998

If you happen to be around chinatown, Spring Rolls are another option!

IMG_3003Then, there are Mexican carts of course! (I prefer the hard taco shells compared to the soft tortillas though! Taco Bell >> Authentic Mexican food!)

Still to figure out where they hide all the hot sauces

Still to figure out where they hide all the hot sauces

Dinner:

Pizzas! (Slices in NY are BIG! I can eat no more than 3 – max 4!)

Greasy and Cheesy - Just the way I like 'em

Greasy and Cheesy – Just the way I like ’em

New Yorkers, eat the pizza in an interesting way – they fold the slice into half and bite into them

Another Option – Chinese Takeout!  Finding vegetarian options is a challenge though :-/

Tastes every bit as delicious as it looks! And the Chinese know Hot!

Tastes every bit as delicious as it looks! And the Chinese know Hot!

Something that has always been on my to-try list are Pretzels – ubiquitous within a 2 mile radius of Times Square – I can sadly never find a cart when I am in the mood to try them!

Posting a borrowed pic does not help my case, but for the sake of completeness,

2 thoughts on “APAD #NYC: Had on the Street

  1. I love the Falafel, Chinese food & Pizza! It just made me hungry again! And you are crazy for thinking that Taco Bell is better than authentic Mexican food! I’ll have to change your mind when I come visit!

Leave a Reply

