APAD #CBS: The Butler Library

There are two New Yorks that reside in the city – one is up during the day, while the other sleeps through the day and is up at night. The Columbia campus is similar.

One of the most beautiful buildings in the campus is the Butler Library (random trivia overheard during a campus tour for undergrads: it is one of 25 libraries in the university)

This was a click during the evening..

IMG_3135

And this one I lifted from wikipedia..

I spent more than an hour just sitting and staring at this at night

I spent more than an hour just sitting and staring at this at night

But my favourite picture of the library is this one (clicked by a friend from the Engineering School)

Has a supremely Hogwarts-esque feeling doesn't it?

Has a supremely Hogwarts-esque feeling doesn’t it?

5 thoughts on “APAD #CBS: The Butler Library

  1. This library is something my grandfather used to tell me about all the time. He did his second masters in Columbia back in the 60′s in Education and Child Psychology. I’ve seen really old pictures of it in black and white, it’s absolutely stunning. This post reminded me of a lot of stuff 🙂

      • There is no link, they were my dada’s pictures! :). He has A TON of fascinating stories and pictures, led quite a life. Haha I’m sorry about the ‘Anonymous’ bit, just that you don’t know me and I didn’t want to seem creepy lol.

      • A friend of mine randomly mentioned your blog and I checked it out out of curiosity after the stories I’d heard. Indian perspective and all that you know.

Leave a Reply

