APAD #NYC: Touristy things to do in the city #2

Continuing from #1, I decided it was high time I visited the other popular attractions i the city – especially since my cousin had come down from the West Coast (if you ARE going to pose and click photographs with these monuments like a tourist, rather do it in a group!)

It was quite fun actually…

We began with Wall Street – the big Brass Bull!

The Bull of Wall Street!

The Bull of Wall Street!

Heard a funny story about how a bunch of drunk Columbia Students lifted the bull up and reversed its direction one fine night (felt mighty proud about my association with the university)

We then passed by the 9/11 memorial – it is huge (I realized then that 12 years have gone by since the twin tower attacks! so much has happened since, but the memory is still vivid in my mind!)

20131115_110429

Spent some time at Times Square (of course) – it was amusing to see all those tourists starry-eyed at all the lights and sound!

20131115_222446

We then went to Grand Central Station – I just love the place! Supremely beautiful – I can spend hours just staring at all the people rushing ahead with their lives..

20131115_143437

view from the top

view from the top

Then to my favourite part of the city – Central Park! Regardless of how tired you are – a walk in the park is always welcome 🙂

<Imagine ‘Map of my Heart – Little Manhattan’ playing in the background>

We also saw the famous Chrysler Building (it was really hard to find a spot from where we could get a good view – with all the tall buildings blocking it!) It always reminds me of the painting by Neal Caffrey in White Collar!

Stunning ain't it!

Stunning ain’t it!

Day #2 was kickstarted by a walk across Brooklyn Bridge – all the Kal Ho Na Ho references aside, it has got some really amazing views – second only to those by the Brooklyn Promenade, where we went straight after walking the bridge! I could seriously not get enough of the view! Breathtaking is an understatement for that!

Brooklyn Bridge!

Brooklyn Bridge!

View from the Promenade! (spot the heli-pad where D.Trump lands during 'The apprentice' shoots)

View from the Promenade! (spot the heli-pad where D.Trump lands during ‘The apprentice’ shoots)

Beauty in a Panorama Shot

Beauty in a Panorama Shot

My cousin got super-excited when we walked past the Barclays Centre (a new Basketball stadium)

20131116_141343

We walked on to Prospect Park – created by the same guy who made Central Park (CP>>PP). We caught a game of two-hand touch football between some college students and headed back to home-base (Manhattan!)

The next day was spent at the Metropolitan Museum of Art (the Met) [and at various food and frozen yogurt places]..a tour of the Met is not something one can complete in a day – I spent upwards of 2 hours at the Egyptian place itself! This was hands down the most amazing Museum I have seen..ever.

Hangin' out with this cool Egyptian King

Hangin’ out with this cool Egyptian King

This doesn’t seem like a lot when I write about it, but I get a tonne of perspective, when I realize we walked almost 85 Kms over the span of 3 days! (thank you footstep-tracking app!)

It all hit me on Monday morning, when my legs simply refused to co-operate. But well, it was worth it!

8 thoughts on “APAD #NYC: Touristy things to do in the city #2

Leave a Reply

