APAD #NYC: Mind = \m/ Really Blown \m/

WWIT (abbr.) – What was I thinking?

WWIT #1: Coming to New York and almost skipping a Broadway show, since it’s too mainstream

WWIT #2: Almost choosing Phantom of the Opera over Rock of Ages

WWIT #3: Having such low standards for getting my mind blown

Thankfully, good sense prevailed and I spent a fortune on a seat for the (epic) Broadway Musical – Rock of Ages. It was phenomenal – I had really high standards and expectations from it – and it somehow managed to surpass them!

From the most insane musicians, to an amazing set (with 80’s band posters, artificial dope, neon signs and everything), to really funny 80’s style jokes to some really awesome dancing – this show had it all! It made me realize that 80’s was probably the best time to be alive – and the Sunset Strip, probably the best place for music! Even though I don’t buy into all the glam rock costumes and crap, I cannot help but agree that that they made some killer music!

And the cast just did a fantastic job of recreating the whole experience! Of course being on the second row ensured that I was at the heart of all the special effects – like Regina handing me flyers, the rhythm guitarist pointing the devil’s horns at me, the lead guitarist throwing his guitar-pic at me, Stacee Jacks throwing (extremely valuable) Rock of Ages 100 dollar bills, and hi-five-ing the crew on their exit!

Notice: Flyer, Currency, RoA light, ticket and guitar-pic

Notice: Flyer, Currency, RoA light, ticket and guitar-pic

I stayed back (in negative 7 degrees cold) and waited almost 20 mins to meet the cast including Tommy Kessler – this guy pulled all those solos with such ease (sliding to the end of the stage and stuff of course) – totally worth almost freezing myself to death for! (They needed to know that one more guy thinks they’re awesome)

(l to r) Joey as Stacey Jaxx; Teresa as Justice; Tommy  the lead guitarist - this guy rocks hard!

(l to r) Joey as Stacey Jaxx; Teresa as Justice; Tommy the lead guitarist – this guy rocks hard!

Just to give an idea about how epic it was:

 

 

Leave a Reply

